Skip to content

Hope Sounds Mix 1: World Won’t Wait (Resolutions Remix)

January 8, 2010

Happy new decade, everyone! I hope you all had a lovely holiday season, and that 2010 is treating you well so far!

Usually at this time of year I make a long list of very specific resolutions that I don’t actually end up sticking to. (Does anyone?)  2009 was a pretty incredible year for me, and I’d like to keep the good things from it going into 2010 and beyond.  So, in terms of resolutions, this year I’m trying something a little different.  Instead of making a long list and ending up disappointed when I don’t stick with every single item on that list, I’m making just two resolutions: be brave and be compassionate.

I thought it might be fun to have something to keep me inspired and motivated throughout the year, so I made a mix that I’m hoping is a musical representation of my resolutions.  I present to you Hope Sounds Mix 1 (yep, there will be more mixes throughout the year): World Won’t Wait (the Resolutions Remix).  I thought you might enjoy being able to give it a listen too, so you can stream all the songs by clicking on the link below the tracklist!

Tracklist:
1. Joshua Radin – Brand New Day
Most kind of stories/save the best part for last/and most stories have a hero who finds/you make your past your past/Yeah you make your past your past

Josh Pyke – Eat Me Alive
you shouldn’t keep your courage in a box/such a rare, rare bird you’ll find/won’t flourish under lock/so you shouldn’t keep your courage in a box

Lenka – Live Like You’re Dying
Take every moment, you know that you own them/It’s all up to you to do whatever you choose/Live like you’re dying and never stop trying/It’s all you can do/Use what’s been given to you

Chris Holmes – China
Take it all in instead of writing it down//hoping to find that I’m one of a kind/willing to settle for some peace of mind/I’m going to sail to china/or move to carolina/find myself some peace/and take myself some time

Missy Higgins – Going North
I wanna dance the tango with chance/I wanna ride on the wire/Cause nothing gets done with dust in your gun//I’m off to explore every boundary and every door

John Mayer – 3×5
You held this letter, probably got excited/but there’s nothing else inside it/Didn’t have a camera by my side this time/hoping I would see the world with both my eyes

Tim Myers – A Beautiful World
I wanna shout it from the roof top and tell the world/that I was blind but now I see what’s right in front of me/It’s a beautiful world I see, everything looks differently/It’s a beautiful world I see, these moments are changing me

Blind Pilot – Paint or Pollen
if you hear what I hear/don’t just sit there//you got blown shore to shore/not quite sailing/riding on the trade winds of age/things blow in/don’t just cast them/say it now, what you want to stay//the best is upon us/with only potential to choose

Stream the playlist! (Note: very unfortunately, I couldn’t find a site that allows you to listen to the mix without registering a username.  I tried it out with a second e-mail address and so far they haven’t sent me any spammy e-mails.  I was able to listen to the mix immediately.  So sorry for the inconvenience! If it’s any condolence, this seems to be a great site to stream a song if you’d like to listen to the entire thing without buying it.)

What about you?  Have you made any resolutions for this year?  Are you doing anything fun to keep yourself motivated to stick with them for the whole year?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Alannah permalink
    January 8, 2010 10:39 PM

    JEN!!! That mix is awesome. i LOOOOOVE missy higgins and joshua radin and john mayor and Lenka and I am excited to listen to the other songs I haven’t heard of. Most people don’t know about Missy or Lenka (but, they are becoming more popular. I’m glad you know them!)

    I hope you’re enjoying Say You’re One of Them. I bought it two years ago-ish and I love it.

  2. February 6, 2010 10:05 AM

    what a great site and informative posts, I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

Trackbacks

  1. TED Talk: Brene Brown on the Power of Vulnerability « Echo Hope

Leave a Reply

