Skip to content

“Words have incredible power. Words create worlds.”: Jon Foreman for the Huffington Post

February 8, 2010

I’m sorry I haven’t posted in quite a while! I was sick with a horrible cold for a few weeks, but I’m back now.  I’ve got a few posts lined up for the next few days, so stay tuned.

Today I want to share an article written by Jon Foreman, the lead singer and guitarist of Switchfoot, posted on the Huffington Post.  The article is called “What’s in a Word?” and discusses the immense power language holds in defining and shaping our views and beliefs.  Words are the foundation on which we build our world.  I am a huge believer in the possibility of words and stories (and literacy) changing the world, so this article is right up my alley. Usually I focus on the power of a complete story, or, more broadly, the power of education; I love that this article zeroes in on the tremendous significance of individual words: hate; war; peace; love. Hope.

The article has reminded me of how much our way of thinking – right down to the words we use to describe something – can shape (and sometimes limit) our perspective:

Hope is believing in a world that does not exist yet…To hope is to believe that life could be better. It is ultimately our belief in this “unbroken totality” that allows for the potential of tragedy. For without this hope, tragedy is no longer tragedy — it’s simply expected. Without a belief that allows for a better world, the tragic is fact.

This article has inspired me to keep fighting the injustices I see. It has made me even more determined in my goals.  I refuse to settle for a world where suffering is accepted as unchangeable fact.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

