Skip to content

Thankful Thursdays

March 26, 2010

Next week I’m beginning  a new weekly feature – posted every Thursday – called Thankful Thursday. Every Thursday I’ll post a list of a few things to be greatful for that week. For example, here is what my list would have looked like this week (if I’d gotten my act together and posted it yesterday):

1. Young Artists For Haiti’s Wavin’ Flag

I am so in love with this song. Its message, the collaboration that was required to record it, the video – everything!  I have listened to the song and watched the video countless times since its release.  My favourite part of the video is the hugging, and all of those beaming faces during the group chorus. This is such an incredible project. It is so inspiring to see so many prominent young people banding together and using their talent to do something so good. Please buy the song, if you can. Haiti still desperately needs our help.

2. The warmer weather we’ve been having lately. I know it’s been raining what feels like 7 days out of 7 (here in Toronto, anyway), but there are actual sings of spring out there! I will gladly take any excuse to wear my rain boots (no, seriously – I will wear my rain boots at the slightest chance of rain) so I’m ridiculously excited that we’ve finally made it to this melt-y warmish time of year.

3. The Girl Effect.  My job involves reading books aimed at women, so lately I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about the overwhelmingly positive connection between women and education. In Kenya last summer I met many incredibly bright girls (attending elementary school) who were so proud of the things they were learning, and the things they had already achieved.  They would take me by the hand and tug me all the way across the field to their classroom, sit me down at a desk, and proudly show me their school work. Smiling and confident, they would pull books out of their desks and read to me. These girls, like so many others in developing countries around the world, were on their way to becoming the intelligent, resourceful, and determined women who will help lift their families, communities, and entire countries out of poverty. I am so glad that The Girl Effect is helping the world see the potential of investing in girls.

Check back next Thursday for the first real Thankful Thursday post!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 1:31 PM

    Nice writing. You are on my RSS reader now so I can read more from you down the road.

    Allen Taylor

  2. Nikki Faith permalink
    April 1, 2010 2:13 PM

    Great post!! I write on Thankful Thursdays too. 😉

Leave a Reply

