Skip to content

It’s never too late: Thankful Thursday #3

April 15, 2010

1. The Haiti Poster Project. Buy a poster, and the benefits go towards Haiti relief! This is such a lovely, creative project. I am so glad that Haiti is still in people’s hearts and minds. This project is a way to get something beautiful back in return for your contribution. Here are a few of my favourite posters from the project:

2. A friend of mine has been in the hospital for a week, and I’ve been incredibly worried about him. I found out last night that he’s doing much better, and will be going home in a few weeks. I am so relieved to that he is okay, and so grateful for his courage. I am so thankful for the friends who supported and listened and comforted over the past week, and for modern medicine.

3. Tomorrow marks the start of the Toronto Mobilizers Hunger Month! We’re having a month of events and campaigns to raise awareness about hunger issues, from the streets of Toronto to developing countries. The first campaign is called the Pass the Fast campaign, which runs from April 16th to May 15th.  The idea is that each mobilizer will commit to one day of raising awareness about hunger issues and (if they feel comfortable/wish to) fasting. (Fasting is a pretty flexible term in this case. It can be something like choosing to only each fruits and vegetables for the day, only eating two meals, fasting for the whole day, etc.) By the end of the month, when we combine each of our individual days of awareness raising/fasting, the Toronto Mobilizers will have fasted for an entire month.

I read a terrifying fact the other day: every 3.6 seconds, someone dies of starvation. I know – just by reading that fact – that this campaign is going to make me so grateful that I have healthy food to eat every day.  I don’t have to worry about my crops or my livestock or droughts or famine.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

