Skip to content

To Infinity and Beyond!: Thankful Thursday #8

June 24, 2010

After seeing Toy Story 3 on the weekend, I am so grateful for imagination and creativity and intricate, carefully crafted stories. I don’t want to spoil the film for anyone who hasn’t seen it yet, but this story made me sad, nostalgic, scared, and joyful, even if it was a bittersweet sort of joy. I was overwhelmed with emotion – the film, in the usual Pixar fashion, was surprisingly moving, and I spent a good portion of the end of the story trying to surreptitiously wipe away tears. (I failed – I’m not very good at being stealthy when I’m distracted by poignant moments.)

I can’t believe that this story and these characters have been part of my life for fifteen years. Fifteen years! I still remember going to the theatre in the fifth grade with my family when the original Toy Story came out. I loved it then just as much as I love it now (although, admittedly, for different reasons). That a single story and its characters can delight and entertain ten-year-old me and twenty-five-year-old me is a pretty impressive storytelling feat.

It is so wonderful that Pixar is still so focused on the stories that they tell and the most minute details within those stories, rather than on selling products. I requested The Pixar Touch from the library, and I’m so excited to learn about the company as a whole.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

