Skip to content

Thankful Thursday #11: International Youth Day Edition!

August 12, 2010

“I try to believe like I believed when I was 5…when your heart tells you everything you need to know.”   -Lucy Liu

International Youth Day this year kicks off the International Year of Youth! As I did with my letter to the developing world, I’ve cobbled together a few of my favourite lyrics to write a letter to my peers.

Dear friends,

Listen for a singing hitting in your bones like they were forts. I know we hold our breaths for tomorrow, but if you hear what I hear, don’t just sit there. Get out of bed, out of your head, and get your dreaming done. All your days are numbered – all of them, one to one hundred – so what are you gonna do with them all? Become who you are – it happens once in a lifetime.

Take every moment and use what has been given to you. Never stop trying. This is a revolution. We’re starting now, and we don’t have to slow back down. I can feel things are changing. The best is upon us, with only potential to choose.  The sky is yours.

Love,

Jen

(Artists included: blind pilot, josh pyke, luke nares, lenka, switchfoot, jason mraz, neutral milk hotel.)

Dear friends,

Listen for a singing hitting in your bones like they were forts. I know we hold our breaths for tomorrow, but if you hear what I hear, don’t just sit there. Get out of bed, out of your head, and get your dreaming done. All your days are numbered – all of them, one to one hundred – so what are you gonna do with them all? Become who you are – it happens once in a lifetime.

Take every moment and use what has been given to you. Never stop trying. This is a revolution. We’re starting now, and we don’t have to slow back down. I can feel things are changing. The best is upon us, with only potential to choose.  The sky is yours.

Love,

Jen

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

