Skip to content

Think We – Day 2: Joe Opatowski

September 24, 2010

In the week leading up to Free the Children‘s We Day, I will be posting one reason each day why I “think WE.” This is day two.

I’ve heard so many wonderful things about Joe Opatowski. He was incredibly compassionate. He had a boundless capacity for love. He gave the best hugs. I have seen people’s faces light up as they talk about him, as they remember him, and as they share his story.

We are often asked What will your legacy be? I always think of this poem, of the line Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life? There is a hallway in Me to We‘s new leadership centre dedicated to Joe, and I remember standing in that hallway for a full five minutes one morning in August, thinking about how easy Joe made it look to live life at what I have come to know as Lev3l (Level 3): with the courage to dream, the passion to believe, and the intensity to act.Β  Joe’s legacy, for me, is one of love, of laughter, and of endless inspiration.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

