Skip to content

If you look for it, I’ve got a sneaky feeling you’ll find that love actually is all around: Thankful Thursday #13

October 7, 2010

I’m still two months away from getting to watch Love Actually (I have a rule that I’m only allowed to watch it in December. This is entirely necessarily, otherwise I’d probably watch it weekly.). But that doesn’t mean I’m not allowed to quote it.

This Thursday, I’m thankful for love. I know: corny. But bear with me! This particular Thursday happens to be smack dab*  in between We Day and Thanksgiving weekend. This means that I’ve been surrounded by so many different kinds of love this week, and it is amazing.

At We Day, for that one day, I got to have so many of my friends from volunteer trips and leadership activities not only in one city, but in one building. That is so rare. It’s a loud kind of love – the kind that generally involves your name being yelled from the other side of the hall and pushing your way through the crowd to hug. I was lucky enough to get to spend most of the weekend with these friends, some of them from Toronto or nearby, and others visiting from Quebec, Saskatchewan, Alberta and B.C. It was the best weekend I’ve had in a long time. The cold I’m fighting off is completely worth it for two concerts in one night and wandering around the city until 5AM.

I used to spend every Thanksgiving weekend at my grandparents’ house in the eastern townships of Quebec. I remember walks through the countryside to stare in awe at hills covered in changing leaves. I remember climbing trees, reading, telling stories at the table for hours after dinner was finished, and so much laughter.

This week, I’m grateful to have so many different kinds of love in my life. This post is for parents and siblings and aunts and uncles. For grandparents. For crushes, for my two good friends who somehow make a five-year relationship seem like nothing, and for the love of your life. For friends I’ve had since kindergarten and friends I met last week. For family.

 

*who even says that anymore? Me, apparently.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 11:55 AM

  2. Brittany permalink
    October 7, 2010 12:27 PM

    Nice post Jen! I love Thanksgiving too, even though it’s been a long time since I’ve spent it with my own family. Everyone does it a little differently, but with similar intentions. Have a stellar weekend, and enjoy being with your loved ones 🙂

  3. Rachel permalink
    October 7, 2010 6:40 PM

    Oh man, Love Actually is one of my all-time favourite movies too! Good on you for being so dedicated to the “only at Christmas” rule; I can’t help myself and watch Love Actually and The Holiday all year round (probably too much for my own good :P). But seriously, the opening monologue of Love Actually is one of my favourite quotes ever!! It’s on Facebook as one of my “favourite quotes,” is taped to my bedroom wall right now, and the same line as this post’s title is even written in the little “write something about yourself” Facebook box 😛 We should have a movie night 🙂
    Anyways, beautiful post! I agree 100%, and feel so lucky to have experienced so much in the past week (well, actually, in the past month…year…years…the list goes on), met so many amazing people, and been able to share it all with everyone. Thank you for your reflection and happy Thanksgiving!!

Leave a Reply

