Skip to content

Thankful Thursday #14

October 14, 2010

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”true” link=”term=chilean+mine&iid=9947651″ src=”http://view3.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/9947651/trapped-miners-chile-are/trapped-miners-chile-are.jpg?size=500&imageId=9947651″ width=”234″ height=”319″ /]
1. All 33 miners were successfully rescued from the San Jose mine in Chile! It’s been a scary situation to watch over the past few months and I am so relieved that everyone is safe.Β  This is a story of so much good and humanity and heart emerging from a terrible situation, and that inspires me.

 

2. Remember how excited I was for We Day here in Toronto a few weeks ago? Tomorrow, Free the Children is doing it all over again (with a new list of incredible guests) all the way over in Vancouver! I’ve been restless today, hearing stories from friends who get to be there for the show tomorrow. Images of the empty arena, transformed and waiting to be filled with the boundless energy of 18,000 youth a few hours from now, gives me chills.

[picapp align=”right” wrap=”true” link=”term=martin+sheen&iid=8496578″ src=”http://view3.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/8496578/shakespeare-center-los/shakespeare-center-los.jpg?size=500&imageId=8496578″ width=”234″ height=”317″ /]I think the guest I’m most excited for is Martin Sheen. I’m a huge fan of The West Wing, and could listen to him deliver President Bartlet’s speeches for hours. Part of that is writer Aaron Sorkin’s stunning ability to make dialogue sound like poetry, but most of it is Martin Sheen’s acting/speaking ability. His cadence and power are always incredible, and it would be amazing to hear him speak in a packed auditorium. Although I won’t be able to see the show live, I’m excited to watch the CTV special later this year. I’m also very excited to watch Craig Kielburger interview Martin Sheen in an upcoming episode of Shameless Idealists.

 

3. I’ve had a bit of a low week, but I’m very thankful for Brooke Fraser‘s new album, Flags, which was released on Tuesday. There is nothing like staying up late to lie on your bed with, forget everything else, and listen to a new album for the first time.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    October 15, 2010 8:05 PM

    Love Actually last week, and Aaron Sorkin this week?! Amazing! lol. As a West Wing and Sorkin fan, you MUST love “The American President,” am I right? I have a feeling we have very similar tastes in movies… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

