Skip to content

We’re All in This Together: Thankful Thursday #22

January 7, 2011

Happy 2011, everyone! I hope the new year is treating you well so far.

Sometimes the new year feels like it is beginning at exactly the right time. This year, for me, is a year of living simply, of taking the time to re-focus and remember what’s truly important. A year of regaining perspective. A year of positive change. Most of all, I will reach out. Because if I’ve learned anything over the past year, it’s the importance and value of this act. Every person deserves my warmth, my honesty, my curiosity, my patience and my compassion. To give them less is to miss an opportunity to connect, and at the end of the day, what else is there?

There is a video that I have watched countless times this week as I think about what I hope to do with my life, my friends, and what the year holds for us.

I am so thankful for this reminder of who and what I’m fighting for and why I’m fighting for them. I cannot forget the people, just like me, placed by lottery in atrocious situations across the world. The girl in Quito who spends her mornings shining shoes instead of going to school, the 48% of women in New Delhi who are illiterate, the barefoot girl in rural Kenya who drinks water from the same pond where cows bathe. Who are we to forget the downtrodden, or the oppressed, or the marginalized, while we go about chasing the dream?

Leave a Reply

