Skip to content

On Possibility

March 2, 2011

Two years ago, I was afraid of wanting anything. I figured wanting would lead to trying and trying would lead to failure. But now I find I can’t stop wanting.

I want to fly somewhere on first class. I want to travel to Europe on a business trip. I want to get invited to the White House. I want to learn about the world. I want to surprise myself. I want to be important. I want to be the best person I can be. I want to define myself instead of having others define me. I want to win and have people be happy for me. I want to lose and get over it. I want to not be afraid of the unknown. I want to grow up and be generous and big-hearted, the way people have been with me. I want an interesting and surprising life.

It’s not that I think I’m going to get all these things. I just want the possibility of getting them. College represents possibility. The possibility that things are going to change. I can’t wait.

I was re-watching an old episode of Friday Night Lights when I came across my favourite character’s university application essay. The essay loses a bit of its magic when you haven’t watched Tyra overcome countless obstacles to get to this point, but I wanted to share her words nonetheless. You can listen to Tyra Collette reading her essay here: Tyra’s Speech Sound Clip and Quote.

No comments yet

Leave a comment