Skip to content

The Return of Thankful Thursday

November 23, 2012

What better day to bring back Thankful Thursday than on Thanksgiving?! (Even if it isn’t Canadian Thanksgiving. On a day when millions of people just across the border are giving thanks it totally still counts right?) So, friends, without further ado:

When I was a kid, my favourite gift to ask for at birthdays and Christmas was a “runaway bag.” Yup, I hoped that my parents would buy me a bag that I could pack up with favourite toys, cookies, maybe a blanket (you know, the essentials) and run away. I never got farther than the backyard, but I had big plans. (Don’t get me wrong – I loved my family and my home, but I wanted adventures. Especially if they involved climbing things.)

But today? Today I’m so thankful for home. Even if it isn’t building-a-pillow-fort-in-my-parents’-living-room home, or climbing-the-tree-in-my-grandparents-backyard home, or even summer-reunions-with-my-bestests home, I’m thankful for my own bed in my own apartment and the friends and loved ones I surround myself with here and now. For the past two months I’ve been busy working and travelling and letting the days blur together into one big adventure; it’s a new kind of wonderful to stay still.

I don’t say it nearly enough, and I’m really pretty terrible at showing it, so: thank you, thank you, thank you to the friends and family in my life, whether I text you 5 times a day or haven’t seen you in months (eep, I’m sorry x12). You mean the world to me – all of you – and I’m so thankful you’ve stuck around.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 23, 2012 10:22 AM

    and we are thankful for you, Jen Dibble.
    Thank you for being you 🙂

Leave a Reply

